Sodom - Better Off Dead

Release date: 01.10.1990

Their origins date back to the year 1980. Be it the early demo tapes, their In The Sign Of Evil-EP (Steamhammer), their 1996 debut album Obsessed By Cruelty: Sodom intimidated the world at large from the very beginning. Two years and one album later, the band toured Europe with the likes of Whiplash, recording the live cut Mortal Way Of Life at the legendary Tor 3 in Düsseldorf in the process. In Agent Orange, the band from Gelsenkirchen in the Ruhr area unleashed a milestone of the genre. Sodom toured all over the world, travelled Europe repeatedly and played a number of successful gigs in Japan and South America. Albums like Better Off Dead (1990) or Tapping The Vein (1992) manifested the success of the band, who –despite a number of personnel changes – managed to maintain their characteristic sound, mainly thanks to bassist and vocalist Tom Angelripper. Throughout the Nineties, Sodom lost none of their authenticity on albums like Masquerade In Blood or ’Til Death Do Us Unite, remaining firmly grounded and never losing touch with their roots. With their 1999 release Code Red, a title that refers to the US Marines’ infamous punishment code, the trio consisting of Angelripper/Bernemann/Schottkowski proved as politically committed as ever. This tradition was continued in 2001 with a journey to the Far East, namely two shows in Bangkok and Saigon and the explosive subject matter of their album, M 16. Subsequently, Angelripper threw himself into the preparations for Sodom`s first DVD, Lords Of Depravity Part I (the band are already busy working on a successor), presenting their long-awaited new studio recording in Sodom.

01. An Eye For An Eye
02. Shellfire Defense
03. The Saw Is The Law
04. Turn Your Head Around (Tank cover)
05. Capture The Flag
06. Cold Sweat (Thin Lizzy cover)
07. Bloodtrails
08. Never Healing Wound
09. Better Off Dead
10. Resurrection
11. Tarred And Feathered
12. Stalinorgel

Pressing Information

- standard CD in jewel case

More releases