Molly Hatchet - Devil's Canyon

Release date: 26.06.1996

Molly Hatchet have been making music since the mid-Seventies. The unusual name of the band refers to an apparently particularly love-hungry lady named Molly Hatchet, who lived in the 17th century and had her lovers decapitated after enjoying their favours. In 1978 the band signed their first recording deal and sold almost a million copies of their self-titled debut release. Molly Hatchet went on tour with Aerosmith and Bob Seeger that same year, and their second album release Flirtin’ With Disaster (1979) followed twelve months later. Their third album Beatin’ The Odds (9181) was a commercial success, selling over two million copies and entering the Billboard charts at no. 25. The group’s unmistakable trade mark is the warrior who appears on their album sleeves and was designed by the American fantasy artist, Frank Frazetta. Their fourth offering, Take No Prisoners (1981), made it directly into the Billboard charts. Two years later, Molly Hatchet presented their exceptional No Guts … No Glory (including the anthem ‘Fall Of The Peacemakers’). Their 1984 The Deed Is Done was the first release to meet with mixed reactions. While some attested the album with Hatchet’s typical blues rock and boogie feel, others criticized its all-too-polished sound. However, Molly Hatchet managed to reunite their fan base again with their live cut Double Trouble Live (1985), recorded in Dallas and Jacksonville. Their eighth album, Lightning Strikes Twice, saw the light of day four years later, followed by an almost seven year sabbatical, which came to an end with Devil’s Canyon in 1996. “After all those years, it was still a great feeling to pick up a guitar, connect it to an amp and start playing”, Ingram rejoiced at the successful comeback. “Devil’s Canyon put us back on the rock music map.”

01. Down From The Mountain
02. Rolling Thunder
03. Devil`s Canyon
04. Heartless Land
05. Never Say Never
06. Tatanka
07. Come Hell Or High Water
08. The Look In Your Eyes
09. Eat Your Heart Out
10. The Journey
11. Dreams I`ll Never See

LP 1
Side A
01. Down From The Mountain
02. Rolling Thunder
03. Devil`s Canyon

Side B
01. Heartless Land
02. Never Say Never
03. Tatanka

LP 2
Side A
01. Come Hell Or High Water
02. The Look In Your Eyes
03. Eat Your Heart Out

Side B
01. The Journey
02. Dreams I`ll Never See
03. Bloody Reunion (bonus track)

Pressing Information

- standard CD in jewel case
- 2 LP´s in gatefold

More releases