Gamma Ray - Land Of The Free Pt. II

This item is unavailable.

Release date: 16.11.2007

Gamma Ray produced this album themselves. All four musicians, Kai Hansen, Henjo Richter (guitar), Dirk Schlächter (bass) and Daniel Zimmermann (drums), are experienced enough to translate their ideas at the studio - as the brilliant results of their previous self-produced albums prove. But for the first time in ages, the band allowed themselves the luxury of enlisting outside support for certain stages of the recording process. “We wanted to have a clear head in some areas to be able to concentrate on the important things,” Hansen explains the enlistment of Tommy Newton (Helloween, UFO, etc.) and his Area 51 studio in Celle, where the new material was mixed. Newton also took care of the drum parts as a sound engineer at Gamma Ray’s own studio, allowing the band to focus on guitar arrangements and vocals. “Land Of The Free – II is atmospherically extremely dense, with lots of overdub guitars and choirs, the way Queen used to have them, making the album almost orchestral, without neglecting Gamma Ray’s typical metallic toughness, based on the multi-layered guitar sounds and vocals. Excessive keyboard parts weren’t even necessary.”

01. Into The Storm
02. From The Ashes
03. Rising Again
04. To Mother Earth
05. Rain
06. Leaving Hell
07. Empress
08. When The World
09. Opportunity
10. Real World
11. Hear Me Calling
12. Insurrection

Pressing Information

- limited CD in digipak

More releases